Podkin One-Ear Optioned by Shiny Button

13 February 2019


Podkin shinybutton

Kieran Larwood’s enchanting fantasy middle-grade series has been optioned by Shiny Button, producers of Murder in Successville (BBC Three) and Action Team (ITV2).

The Legend of Podkin One-Earpublished by Faber Children’s, was winner of the 2017 Best Story Blue Peter Book Award and has also recently won the prestigious French Prix Sorcières 2019 for middle-grade fiction.

The series is about a young rabbit and son of a warrior chieftain called Podkin, who flees with his siblings when their warren comes under attack from the vicious and unstoppable Gorm. With danger all around them, Podkin must protect his family, uncover his destiny, and attempt to defeat the most horrifying enemy rabbitkind has ever known.

Shiny Button’s passion for this thrilling fantasy adventure from a beguiling storyteller will captivate young audiences.

Kieran said “I’m very excited that the first book in the series is being developed for television. The whole process – from script writing to character designing – is fascinating, and being a part of it has been a dream come true.  The producers and animators have a great vision for the project, which will hopefully add to and expand the original story.”

Podkin series

Kieran has also signed a new publishing deal with Faber Children’s for three more books in the Five Realms series, with the first book Uki and the Outcasts, about a rabbit who is brought back to life by a spirit guardian and tasked with finding four escaped spirits. The book features more illustrations from David Wyatt and will publish in September 2019 in hardback. Max Porter, author of Grief is the Thing With Feathers, is among the many Podkin fans!

Kieran is “delighted to be returning to the Five Realms to write another trilogy for Faber.  It’s been great fun to visit different parts of the world, and to add to the bard’s story with some new characters.”

Read an interview with Kieran here about the third book in The Five Realms series, The Beasts of Grimheart.
Buy the series from Amazon and Waterstones.