Publication day for two gripping crime debuts

19 April 2018

Today sees the publication of two gripping crime novels, Niki Mackay’s I WITNESS and Robert Scragg’s WHAT FALLS BETWEEN THE CRACKS. It is the first publication for both authors who submitted their work to our submissions department.

Unknown 1

I, Witness is published by Orion Crime and features cool, tough girl private detective Madison Atallee and a host of strong female characters. It is the first book in the Madison Attalee series. Six years ago, Kate Reynolds was found holding the body of her best friend; covered in blood, and clutching the knife that killed her. Kate has been in prison ever since, but now her sentence is up. She is being released. There’s only one person who can help: Private Investigator Madison Attalee, the first officer on the scene all those years ago.

Author Niki Mackay is a writer and a bookworm who studied performing arts at BRIT school. She went on to take a BA (Hons) in English Literature and Drama and won a full scholarship for an MA in Journalism.


What Falls Between the Cracks publishes with Alison and Busby. It is the first book in the Porter and Styles detective duo series. When a severed hand is found in an abandoned flat, Detective Jake Porter and his partner Nick Styles are able to DNA match the limb to the owner, Natasha Barclay, who has not been seen in decades. But why has no one been looking for her?

Robert Scragg is a northerner born and bred, and has had a random mix of jobs to date, including bookseller, pizza deliverer, Karate instructor, Football Coach, and working in Telecoms. Robert is also a founding member of the North East Noir crime writers group.

See more about I, Witness

See more about What Falls Between the Cracks